Can You Leave The Scene Of An Accident If No One Else Was Involved?

By Pyle Law, Reviewed by E. THomas Pyle May 22 2023 5:15 pm

Can You Leave The Scene Of An Accident If No One Else Was Involved?

By Pyle Law, Reviewed by E. THomas Pyle May 22 2023 5:15 pm
Can You Leave The Scene Of An Accident If No One Else Was Involved?

You may think that most crashes involve two or more vehicles, but the reality is that single-vehicle crashes happen regularly. In fact, in a recent year, 50 percent of vehicular fatalities in Kansas resulted from single-vehicle crashes


While single-vehicle accidents might seem quite different from multi-vehicle collisions, the protocol following the accident should be similar. If you have been in a single-vehicle crash, call for help and remain at the scene of your crash. The authorities can check you for injuries, document what happened, and more to help you. Further, leaving can be considered a hit and run, and penalties for a hit and run include losing one’s driver’s license, fines, or even prison time. 


Your single-car accident might also be the fault of someone else, such as a driver who ran you off the road or a road hazard that caused you to lose control. In these situations, you need to identify possible liability in case you have serious injuries.


If you are in a single-car crash, we recommend taking the proper steps discussed below to protect your rights, find here the Post-Accident Checklist for Non-Fault Car Crashes to get more details. Consulting with a car accident attorney is always critical to help you better understand your legal rights. 

Contact a Car Accident Attorney Near You

Call the authorities

You might not think it is necessary to call 911 for a single-car crash. However, if you or anyone else has any possible injuries, medical professionals should come to the scene. 


Further, you need to report a car accident in Kansas if there is more than $1,000 in damage to property from the crash, which is often likely.

Can You Leave The Scene Of An Accident If No One Else Was Involved?

The police should also arrive at the scene and discuss what occurred with you and other witnesses. They can file a police report, which can be important if you need to file a fault-based injury claim. 


Get medical attention.

Getting immediate medical care is important for two reasons:


  • A quick diagnosis can help you understand your injuries and begin the treatment you need immediately. 
  • You establish medical records you can use if you need to file an insurance claim.


Never wait to get a medical evaluation and begin treatment for your injuries, even if your symptoms seem minor. 


Consult with a Car Accident Lawyer

You might not consider getting legal help with a single-car accident claim. However, these cases can be more complex than you might think. Your no-fault insurance provider might not be willing to pay you full compensation, or your losses might exceed your policy limits. In such cases, a lawyer can communicate with insurers or determine whether another driver or entity might be liable for your one-car crash. 


Contact A Kansas Car Collision Attorney Today

Even if a single-vehicle collision does not involve another driver, you still have legal rights and should take steps to protect them. Always stay at the scene of the accident and get prompt medical attention. Then, finding the right attorney to assess your legal options should be high on your priority list. 

Set up a consultation today with an attorney at Pyle Law by contacting 620-241-9000.


Share our post


Pyle Law was founded in 1999 with a commitment to fewer clients and better service. We believe that each and every client is important and everyone is entitled to justice and equal protection under our laws. We make every case a priority and are committed to keeping each client informed about the status of their case. We do not guarantee results, but we do guarantee effort.


This page has been written, edited, and reviewed by a team of legal writers following our comprehensive editorial guidelines. This page was approved by attorney E. Thomas Pyle who has more than 20 years of legal experience as a practicing personal injury trial attorney.