A Driver Convicted of Reckless Driving Causes Bodily Injury: What Happens?

By Pyle Law, Reviewed by E. THomas Pyle February 01 2024 5:24 am
CLICK FOR YOUR FREE CONSULTATION

A Driver Convicted of Reckless Driving Causes Bodily Injury: What Happens?

By Pyle Law, Reviewed by E. THomas Pyle February 01 2024 5:24 am
A Driver Convicted of Reckless Driving Causes Bodily Injury: What Happens?

Were you injured by a driver who was charged with reckless driving at the time of the accident? If the other driver got a citation or was arrested for any crime relating to unsafe driving (reckless driving, speeding, DUI, vehicular manslaughter), that can help prove a personal injury case. Your Kansas personal injury lawyer may help you strategize your personal injury case and settlement timing to coincide with this information. 

 

Kansas’ Reckless Driving Law

Kansas statute reads: “Any person who drives any vehicle in willful or wanton disregard for the safety of persons or property is guilty of reckless driving.” Reckless driving is a misdemeanor in Kansas, and the penalties include:

  • First Offense: Five to ninety days in jail and/or a fine of $25-$500.
  • Subsequent Offense: Ten days to six months in jail and/or a fine of $50-$500.

As you can see, despite this charge being a misdemeanor, Kansas takes it seriously and penalizes accordingly. Your personal injury lawyer can help you, again, to use the other driver’s jail time or fine for reckless driving as evidence to prove your claim.

 

Elements to Prove a Personal Injury Case

There are four things your car accident lawyer will need to prove in order to win your case:

  • Duty of care – In other words, you must prove the other person owed you some degree of care, such as following the traffic laws and driving carefully.
  • Breach of duty – This means that the care the other person should have given you was not handled correctly—your lawyer must show that the person failed to meet their obligation of care.
  • The breach caused your injury – It’s necessary to connect the other driver’s breach of care to your injury. How did, for example, their reckless driving cause your concussion and broken ribs?
  • Severity of damage – Lastly, your Kansas personal injury lawyer will need to show exactly how much damage was caused by the other driver’s negligence. Are your injuries permanent? How much damage was done to your vehicle? 

 

Does Kansas Limit How Much Compensation You Can Get for an Accident?

The State of Kansas does not limit how much you can recover after an unsafe driver crashes into you. A more realistic “limit” is simply going to be how much insurance coverage the other driver has. So this begs the question: How much insurance coverage are Kansas drivers required to have?

  • Uninsured Motorist – The law mandates at least $25,000/person for up to two people.
  • Liability – The law requires $25,000/person per injury with a minimum of $50,000 per accident.
  • No-Fault Coverage (PIP or “Personal Injury Protection) – Kansas needs drivers to have coverage for at least $4,500/person for medical, $25/day for in-home care for injured parties, $900/month for loss of wages, $2,000 for death coverage, and $4,500 to cover rehabilitative services.

 

Call Our Kansas Accident Lawyers Today!

Our Kansas car accident attorneys understand the challenges of these cases and are committed to getting you the most compensation. Take the first steps towards getting back on your feet after the crash by calling us now at 620-241-9000.  Book your free consultation.

 

Share our post
#

E. THOMAS PYLE

Pyle Law was founded in 1999 with a commitment to fewer clients and better service. We believe that each and every client is important and everyone is entitled to justice and equal protection under our laws. We make every case a priority and are committed to keeping each client informed about the status of their case. We do not guarantee results, but we do guarantee effort.

#

This page has been written, edited, and reviewed by a team of legal writers following our comprehensive editorial guidelines. This page was approved by attorney E. Thomas Pyle who has more than 20 years of legal experience as a practicing personal injury trial attorney.