Put our experience and expertise to work for you in your personal injury, workers’ comp, or wrongful death case! We’re ready to fight for what you’re entitled to receive!
What if My Employer Doesn’t Have Workers’ Compensation Coverage?By Pyle Law, May 04 2021 9:44 am
What happens when you get injured at work and your employer has no workers’ compensation coverage to provide you benefits? This situation can be complicated, and it is essential to seek representation from a Kansas workers’ compensation attorney right away.
Violence, falls, and motor vehicle accidents are the three leading causes of workplace injury across the United States. Fortunately, legal frameworks exist at the federal and state levels to protect employees when work-related injuries happen. Specifically, Kansas law requires almost all employers to carry adequate workers’ compensation coverage to provide benefits for injuries on the job.
However, some employers violate these laws, subjecting their injured workers to stressful situations and questions. What happens if you work for an uninsured employer, and you get injured at work? This can be a complex situation, and you want the help of a Kansas workers’ compensation attorney.
First, it’s important to verify if your employer is insured before accepting a job or signing an employment contract with them. Your employer should tell you how to contact their insurer if you get injured at work. If they can’t provide these details, they might not be insured. Fortunately, you can visit the Kansas Coverage Verification page to find out your employer’s coverage status.
Any employer in the public or private sector with a payroll exceeding $20,000 must have this coverage. Otherwise, the employer can pay a civil penalty twice the yearly workers’ compensation premium or $25,000, whichever is higher. Moreover, the state might shut down the employer’s business for this type of violation.
However, the following employers and employees are exempted, which can complicate issues should you get hurt at work:
If your employer is required to have workers’ compensation coverage and you learn it does not, there are steps you can take to protect yourself. First, seek medical treatment immediately. Still inform your employer and get the treatment you need to help you recover quickly. It will also help prove your case against your employer.
Then, speak with a Kansas workers’ compensation attorney about your options. The right lawyer can help you obtain state funds to cover your medical bills and lost income, as workers’ compensation benefits should do. If necessary, an attorney can help you file a legal claim directly against your employer or take other steps that are available to you under the law.
Suffering workplace injuries can be stressful, and the situation becomes even more so when you learn you have an employer who doesn’t have workers’ compensation coverage. However, enlisting a workers’ compensation attorney in Kansas can help you protect your rights and obtain the compensation you deserve. If you are in such a situation, Pyle Law can help. Please don’t hesitate to contact us online or call us at 620-374-9299 for assistance.